St. George’s School blends the strong traditions of its past with a bold vision for the future: to prepare young people in a journey of joy and discovery to lead “lives of constructive service to the world.” Located on a 125-acre campus overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, St. George’s is home to 370 boarding and day students in grades 9 through 12. Founded in 1896 as an Episcopal boarding school by the Rev. John Byron Diman, the school lives firmly in the 21st century, with state-of-the-art academic and athletic facilities. A community drawn from a wide range of traditions and backgrounds in the U.S. and around the world, St. George’s extends opportunities for teachers and students to deepen their skills, find new passions and discover their best selves, whether that be in a DNA sequencing lab, in competition on the basketball court, at sea navigating by starlight, or abroad in one of our unique service-learning internships. With a faculty committed to creating a supportive and inclusive environment for intellectual, social and personal development, St. George’s continues to fulfill its mission through enrolling a diverse, academically talented, and well-rounded student body.
Click the job title for additional information.
by Bill Douglas
Director of Alumni Relations
Work began this past summer to repair and restore the St. George’s Chapel’s teak doors and their wrought iron ornamentation. Phase One of the project focused on four of the 10 doors on the main floor that are in the most need of repair: the Architect’s, North and South Slype, and the Altar doors. The photo at right shows the completed restoration of the South Slype doors, which were reinstalled in August.
Made by noted blacksmith Samuel Yellin of Philadelphia in 1927, each distinctive door is original to the chapel. The project will restore the wood finishes and repair the rust and pitting that have damaged the elaborate wrought iron hinges, handles and decorative strapping. Work is being completed off-site by Hammersmith Studios of Newton Upper Falls, Mass.
On a related note, St. George’s was contacted by the Leeds Art Foundation (LAF) in Philadelphia, which is researching a book about Samuel Yellin. The foundation has shared several archival images of Yellin’s original sketches of the chapel doors and their ironwork, which may inform our restoration efforts. A team from LAF visited campus in August to see our collection of Yellin’s work.
Note: Not covered by the operating budget or a specific endowment fund, chapel restoration projects are made possible by the generous and ongoing commitment of the Friends of the St. George's Chapel, our annual, grassroots effort to preserve what many consider the “Heart of the Hilltop.” If you'd like to contribute to the door project and/or the restoration of the chapel please visit www.stgeorges.edu/support.
Interested applicants should submit a letter of interest and resume to: email@example.com. Review of applications will begin immediately and continue until the position is filled.
St. George’s School admits qualified students of any religion, race, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, national or ethnic origin, ancestry, or mental or physical disability to all the programs and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. The school does not discriminate on the basis of religion, race, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, national or ethnic origin, ancestry, mental or physical disability, or any other status protected by applicable law in the administration of its educational policies, admissions, scholarship and loan programs, or athletic and other policies and programs.