Mission & Leadership

Our Mission Statement

In 1896, the Rev. John Byron Diman, founder of St. George’s School, wrote in his “Purposes of the School” that:

"the specific objectives of St. George’s are to give its students the opportunity of developing to the fullest extent possible the particular gifts that are theirs and to encourage in them the desire to do so. Their immediate job after leaving school is to handle successfully the demands of college; later it is hoped that their lives will be ones of constructive service to the world and to God.”

As we begin the 21st century, we continue to teach young women and men the value of learning and achievement, service to others and respect for the individual. We believe that these goals can best be accomplished by exposing students to a wide range of ideas and choices in the context of a rigorous curriculum and a supportive residential community. Therefore, we welcome students and teachers of various talents and backgrounds, and we encourage their dedication to a multiplicity of pursuits — intellectual, spiritual and physical — that will enable them to succeed in and contribute to a complex, changing world.


The St. George’s Board of Trustees is the guardian of the school’s mission. It is the board’s responsibility to ensure that the mission is relevant and vital to the community it serves and to monitor the success of the school in fulfilling its mission.

2016-17 Board of Trustees:

Leslie Bathgate Heaney ’92, Board Chair (2005)
Millbrook, N.Y.
April S. Anderson ’86, P’20 (2014)
Atlanta, Ga. (2014)

Rodolphus Bethea, Jr. ’87 (2010)
Los Angeles, Calif.

Timothy P. Burns P’13, ’16 (2013)
Portsmouth, R.I.

Susie A. Carlson ’87, P’15, ’18 (2014)
Washington, D.C.

William C. Dorsey ’70 (2000)
Philadelphia, Pa.

Susan K. Gallagher ’82, P’16, ’18 (2013)
Chevy Chase, Md.

David S. Halwig ’68 (2002)
Alexandria, Va.

Clare G. Harrington (2015)
Greenwich, Conn.

Joseph C. Hoopes, Jr. ’62 (1981)
New York, N.Y.

Fraser L. Hunter, Jr. ’84 (2018)
New York, N.Y.

Michael S. Kim ’88 (2014)
New York, N.Y.

Jeffrey J. Kimbell ’89 (2015)
Washington, D.C.

Anthony R. Mayer ’81 (2019)
Denver, Colo.

Anne McCormack P’09, ’11, ’13 (2011)
West Newton, Mass.

E. Stanton McLean ’90 (2015)
London, England

Eric F. Peterson, Head of School (2004)
Middletown, R.I.                                 

William C. Prescott, Jr. ’53 (2007)
South Dartmouth, Mass.
Barbara Putnam, P’05 (2005)
New York, N.Y.

David C. Randall ’82, P’18 (2014)
Houston, Texas

The Rt. Rev. Hays H. Rockwell P’79 (2005)
West Kingston, R.I.

Dana L. Schmaltz ’85, P’17, ’20 (2011)
Boston, Mass.

Lisa Colgate Scully ’81, P’15, ’18, ’19 (2015)
Locust Valley, N.Y.

Jooyoung Jennifer Shin P’17 (2015)
Seoul, Korea

R. Stewart Strawbridge ’94 (2015)
South Portland, Maine

Jane Timken P’16 (2014)
Canton, Ohio

Tad Van Norden ’84 (2010)
New York, N.Y.

The Rt. Rev. Dr. W. Nicholas Knisely, Jr.
Honorary Chair - Providence, R.I
Honorary Members of the Board of Trustees
Arthur F. Draper ’61
South Norwalk, Conn.

J. Philip Lee
Westport, Mass.

Betsy S. Michel
Gladstone, N.J.

Foxhall A. Parker ’43
Pound Ridge, N.Y.

Richard N. Sayer ’65
Middletown, R.I.

Thomas C. Sturtevant ’52
Newport, R.I.

Richard G. Verney ’64
Bennington, N.H.

Peter M. Ward ’43
Darien, Conn.

Charles G. Watson ’50
New Canaan, Conn.

Charles K. Williams II ’49                    
Philadelphia, Pa.  

Updated: 10/13/16
A Coeducational Boarding and Day School for Grades 9 Through 12
St. George's School
372 Purgatory Road Middletown, Rhode Island 02842
powered by finalsite