“The Memorial Schoolhouse”
A Worthy and Enduring Monument
Curated by School Archivist Valerie Simpson, this slideshow focuses on the history of Memorial School House, completed in 1923. Designed by the architectural firm McKim, Mead & White, the classroom building was designed to serve as a lasting monument honoring those alumni and faculty who served in WWI.
Over the last few years, Memorial School House’s slate roof was replaced and its gilded cupola renovated. It is slated for additional major restoration in the coming years.